Bluemoon

Okay, so today I have decided to take a photo of the blue moon. I remember I first saw one, back in July 30, 2004, which makes me wonder, does blue moons occur every end of July? Anyway, the one in 2004 was a lot prettier. The moon was actually turning blue and that was 11 years ago. I remember I was alone at my College Dorm when I witnessed it – I was tipsy, but still managed to get up from my bed just to see what a blue moon looks like. I should say, the latter was a lot prettier than this blue moon in 2015. So sad, camera phones was not yet a norm during those years. I would’ve taken a snap for souvenir.

Once in a Blue Moon

“Blue moon” appears to have been a colloquial expression long before it developed its calendrical senses. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the first reference to a blue moon comes from a proverb recorded in 1528:

If they say the moon is blue,
We must believe that it is true.

Saying the moon was blue was equivalent to saying the moon was made of green (or cream) cheese; it indicated an obvious absurdity. In the 19th century, the phrase until a blue moon developed, meaning “never.” The phrase, once in a blue moon today has come to mean “every now and then” or “rarely”—whether it gained that meaning through association with the lunar event remains uncertain. (source)

I feel blessed that I am able to see two blue moons in my lifetime. Who knows? I might have more.

Leave a Comment

