Anything that has something to do with ARTS, count me in!

It is invariably a keen joy to find out events are organized for a good cause, especially something that symbolizes the part of creative people and artistic genres that both challenge and reflect traditional and contemporary art forms.

Have you heard about the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh?

Well, let me share with you something that I have learned today.  The Edinburgh Festival Fringe (The Fringe) is the world’s largest arts festival.  Established in 1947, the event takes place every year in Scotland’s capital, in the month of August.  It is a showcase for the performing arts, particularly theatre and comedy, as well as dance and comedy.  Theatre productions range from the classics of the ancient Greece to William Shakespeare, Samuel Beckett and contemporary works.

Oh yeah!  You can very well say that I did my homework, and guess what!  Fringe is now in Manila, and I am honoured to be part of this endeavor.  Thanks to my good friend Jha Briones for looping me in!

The goal is to raise awareness among domestic and international audiences, the depth and breadth of artistic endeavor across the Philippines that aims to showcase fresh, daring and groundbreaking material highlighting the unique point of view emerging and established artists from the Philippines and including, but not limited to, theatre, poetry, music, dance, and the visual arts.  (Source: http://www.fringemanila.com)

Filipino talent is amazing.  It’s unbelievable how talented Pinoys are.  It’s part of our daily life that if you look around, you’ll see Filipinos belting out tunes at the malls and even on side streets, even if they are out of tune, dance even if they have two left feet (you won’t believe the countless dance competitions that are being held, especially during fiestas and festivals) and act even if they hold the same expression when trying to be happy, sad or furious.  That is why it come as no surprise the abundance of world-renowned Filipino talents in the music and performing arts making waves in the international scene.  Lea Salonga, Lou Diamond Philips, Rob Schneider, Enrique Iglesias, Apl de Ap (The Black Eyed Peas), and Nicole Scherzinger (Pussycat Dolls) are some the few.  Artistry and creativity is in our blood.

It’s a big joy to me whenever I receive the chance to take part of events like this.  Last night, I met some Filipino and International emerging and established artists, who showcased their groundbreaking work that creates a cross-pollination of ideas and contemporary practices across all genres.  It’s been a little while since I have last seen a production like this, where talents from different parts of the world collaborated for a good cause to create an expression of artistic creation.  It was a great feeling!  Fringe is like one big-ticket item to personal freedom!  Freedom to share, express, and show a part of yours, which nobody knows, until you decide to set it free.  It’s like you saying, “Hey!  This is the color of my brain, and this is my artwork.  I painted this tree blue.  You find it weird, and I don’t care!”

Sometimes I wonder if I am seeing the same things through my eyes that the remainder of the world is seeing through theirs.  Maybe there is a glitch in my brain, but last night, I felt like we were a clan of vampires.  I felt a thrill of genuine excitement.  You know, there was no demand for formal introductions since we share the same passion – ARTS.  You know, as they say, it takes one to know one.  We all just rubbed elbows, talked and shared ideas.  Different thoughts coming from every direction of that room.  It was amazing!

Fringe Manila was a successful launch. A collaboration of both Filipino and International artists at its best. Kudos to Brett MacCallum, (Executive Producer) and the rest of the team! Last night was a blast.
Happiness is meeting new friends while getting tipsy! – Photo taken during Fringe Manila Launch

Last night was wonderful not only because I was with people and things that I love to do.  It was much more than that.  I felt like there is so much possibilities that this universe of art can extend.  If you have an aspiration, whether it’s visual or performing arts, do not surrender your precious dream.  If you give up, there is nothing left.  I do not know with you, but I can’t imagine not being passionate about something.  They say pride is a feeling, and before you can feel it, you have to know it.  Knowing what you want will give you a road map to where you ought to be.  The road to it is not going to be an easy one, but its’s absolutely worth it.  Cheers to those who are doubting you because one day, they will want to be part of your dream.

